For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

List of 12 cities shortlisted for ODI World Cup in India?

11:49 AM Mar 22, 2023 IST | Ground Report
list of 12 cities shortlisted for odi world cup in india

The 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup final is scheduled to take place on November 19 at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium, the world’s largest cricket stadium.

The tournament will start on October 5 and feature 10 teams playing in the same format as the 2019 edition, with a total of 48 matches spread across 12 cities in India.


The cities shortlisted to host the event are Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Dharamsala, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, Indore, Rajkot, and Mumbai.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is yet to confirm the venue details due to concerns over the monsoon season in the country.


During the ICC’s quarterly meetings in Dubai last weekend, the BCCI reportedly assured the global cricket body that Pakistan teams would be granted visas by the Indian government.

The BCCI had also previously agreed to assist the ICC and its commercial partners in obtaining tax waivers for the upcoming 2023 World Cup.


However, Indian tax authorities had informed the ICC last year that they would be charged a 20% tax on broadcast revenue from the tournament, excluding surcharges.

The BCCI has now stated that any such tax incurred by the ICC will be adjusted against India’s board revenues from the ICC central revenue pool.


ODI World Cup history

The ODI (One Day International) World Cup is a quadrennial cricket tournament organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The tournament features national teams from ICC member countries and has been held since 1975.

The West Indies won the inaugural tournament in 1975, followed by their victory in the 1979 edition. India won their first World Cup title in 1983, while Australia has been the most successful team in the tournament’s history, winning the World Cup a record five times, in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015.

Pakistan won the World Cup in 1992, Sri Lanka won their only title in 1996, and England won their first World Cup in 2019. The 2011 tournament was co-hosted by India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh, and the 2015 tournament was co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

Keep Reading

Follow Ground Report for Climate Change and Under-Reported issues in India. Connect with us on FacebookTwitterKoo AppInstagramWhatsapp and YouTube. Write us on

Tags :
Author Image

Ground Report

View all posts

Donate us for good journalism

We use cookies to enhance your browsing experience, serve relevant ads or content, and analyze our traffic.By continuing to visit this website, you agree to our use of cookies.

Climate Glossary Climate Glossary Video Reports Video Reports Google News Google News